Sign in to Baker Library
Overviews and Analysis
Bain & Co. Global Private Equity Report
Annual report on the state of the global private equity market.
Ernst & Young Private Equity
Annual Global Private Equity Watch and Global IPO Trends reports.
IBISWorld
Industry research reports for select US states, UK, Australia, Canada, and China.
Reports include Venture Capital & Principal Trading in the US and Private Equity, Hedge Funds & Investment Vehicles in the US
Global Private Capital Association
Research and analytics produced by the Global Private Capital Association representing private capital investors across global regions.
McKinsey & Co. Private Equity Insights
Frequent topical reports on the state of PE around the world.
Pratt's Guide to Private Equity Sources
Ref. HG64 .P73 in the Stamps Reading Room.
The introductory chapters provide a useful overview of the VC industry. The international directory includes locations, list of project preferences, type of financing, minimum investment, preferred investment, and contact person.
Check Harvard Availability
PwC Private Equity Insights
Industry data, deals analysis, and trends research.
See also books on Private Equity and Venture Capital.
Companies, Investors, Tools, and Transactions
| PE & VC investors by investment criteria (industry, stage, and geography) |
| Startups: venture-backed, by industry, geography, funding amounts, and rounds |
Capital IQ
Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. Includes S&P RatingsDirect.
Need a Capital IQ overview? Check out our multimedia learning module, Learn with Baker Library - Capital IQ Introduction.
CB Insights
Tracks global venture capital, angel investment, private equity, M&A, and IPO activity related to private companies.
Mosaic
Valuation model automation and collaboration platform for building leveraged buyout and discounted cash flows models and more.
Pitchbook
Information on companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the private investment lifecycle.
Preqin
Provides access to information on private equity and venture capital companies, funds, and deals.
LSEG Workspace
Features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and sell-side equity research.
Need a Refinitiv Workspace overview? Check out our multimedia learning module, Learn with Baker Library - Refinitiv Introduction.
News and Journals
Financial Times
Financial Times is a London-based international business daily covering business, political, and world affairs news.
New York Times DealBook
News on mergers and acquisitions, investment banking, private equity, venture capital, IPOs, and hedge funds. Email notification is available.
Includes VC investment and portfolio company news.
Private Equity International
Daily newsletter and reports on the people, the deals, the funds and the financial trends of the industry in the US, Europe and Asia.
Private Equity Real Estate
Global information on private real estate investments and deals.
Wall Street Journal
Harvard University students, faculty, and staff can activate a free digital subscription to WSJ.com.
Careers, Associations and Events
Careers
Holt-MM&K-Buyouts Insider PE/VC Compensation Report
Current trends in design and levels of compensation in the private equity and venture capital industry.
Check Harvard Availability
Invest Europe
Includes searchable directory of member companies by business type, company name, and location. Also includes listing of other venture capital associations in the region.
Preqin Private Capital Compensation and Employment Review
Compensation guide detailing employment practices and compensation packages for 106 private equity firms by position. Also available digitally via Preqin reports.
Check Harvard Availability
Small Business Investor Alliance (SBIA)
A trade association for lower middle market private equity funds and investors. Includes forums, legislation, regulation, legal issues, and resources the small business investment company industry.
See also What resources can I use for networking?
Associations
National Venture Capital Association (NVCA)
National Venture Capital Association provides list of venture capital resources, news and statistics.
Venture Capital & Private Equity Club
HBS Venture Capital & Principal Investment Club
Find out about what skills, knowledge, and experience you need to work in venture capital.
See also Where can I find associations for an industry or profession?
Events
NVCA Events
Programs offered throughout the world on various aspects of private equity from the National Venture Capital Association.
See also How can I find conferences or trade shows for a given industry?