Sign in to Baker Library
Overviews and Analysis
Federal Reserve Data Releases
Provides releases tracked by the markets such as "flow of funds." The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) provides historical business and economic statistics for the U.S. economy, in some cases back to the late 1800s. Use FRASER with data contained in the Federal Reserve Economic Database (FRED II) to create uninterrupted data series.
Handbook of Finance
Ref. HG173 .H327 in Stamps Reading Room.
Overview of field of finance. Divided into three volumes: Financial Market and Instruments; Investment Management and Financial Management; and Valuation, Financial Modeling, and Quantitative Tools.
Check Harvard Availability
Handbook of Financial Instruments
Available online.
Overview of field of finance. Divided into three volumes: Financial Market and Instruments; Investment Management and Financial Management; and Valuation, Financial Modeling, and Quantitative Tools.
Check Harvard Availability
Investment Company Institute
National association of U.S. investment companies. Provides data and research on investors and retirement plans. Report titles include "Equity and Bond Ownership in America" and "Characteristics of Mutual Fund Investors." Its "Investment Company Fact Book" provides an annual overview of mutual funds, shareholder information, and economic trends.
IBISWorld
Industry research reports for select US states, UK, Australia, Canada, and China.
Reports include Stock & Commodity Exchanges in the US, High Frequency Trading in the US
SBBI Classic Yearbook: Market Results for Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation
Ref. HG4501 .S7949 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Formerly Ibbotson's. Annual publication containing historical averages for various types of investments such as total returns, and index values for large and small company stocks.
Check Harvard Availability
Palgrave Macmillan dictionary of finance, investment and banking
Ref. HG151. B36 2010 in Stamps Reading Room.
Reference book containing the essential terminology of today's international financial marketplace. It gives concise and clear definitions of well over 5,000 terms commonly used in the industry, covering the disciplines of accounting, banking, corporate finance, investment management and insurance.
Check Harvard Availability
Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA) Capital Markets Fact Book
Annual review of data on the US securities industry, market activity, investor participation, global markets, savings and investments.
Check Harvard Availability
Exchanges
Global Stock Markets Factbook
Ref. HG4551 .G56 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Annual factbook provides information on the performance of exchanges and markets in developed and emerging-market countries.
Check Harvard Availability
Historical data only (2003-2013)
Handbook of World Stock, Derivative & Commodity Exchanges
Ref. HG4551 .H319 in the Stamps Reading Room.
Guide to the world's stock, derivative, and commodity exchanges.
Check Harvard Availability
Historical data only (1998-2010)
Mondo Visione
Publishes information about global exchanges and trading venues. They have an exchange directory and some news freely available on their website.
World Federation of Exchanges (WFE)
Association for publicly regulated exchanges. Annual and monthly statistics of the world's exchanges on equity markets, bond markets, market indicators, emerging markets, market capitalization, derivatives and exchange rates. Some data back to 1990.
Market Data
Markets covered include equities, corporate and government bonds, commodities, preferred stocks, mortgages, interest rates, and currency exchanges. Hit the yellow key for market sector of interest, then hit GO for a top-level menu of commands.
Capital IQ
Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. Includes S&P RatingsDirect.
Provides screening capabilities. the "Market Analysis" tab provides quick access to summary information by industries and geographies.
Need a Capital IQ overview? Check out our multimedia learning module, Learn with Baker Library - Capital IQ Introduction
Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP)
Security-level historical pricing, returns, and volume data on more than 20,000 stocks (inactive and active companies) from the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ markets, dating back to 1925 (monthly data) and 1962 (daily data).
Datastream
Historic and global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, futures, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials, and economic data.
FactSet
Financial data analysis platform to analyze data from global equity and fixed income markets.
Global Financial Data
Economic and financial time-series database including 150 countries and 6,500 different data series.
Morningstar Direct
Multi-currency research platform that provides performance and holdings analyses of investments.
OptionMetrics Ivy DB
Historical price, option sensitivities, and implied volatility data for United States equity and index options markets.
LSEG Workspace
Features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and sell-side equity research.
Need a Refinitiv Workspace overview? Check out our multimedia learning module, Learn with Baker Library - Refinitiv Introduction.
Trades and Quotes - TAQ
Intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) for all securities listed on the NYSE and AMEX, as well as NASDAQ and Small Cap issues.
WRDS - Wharton Research Data Services
Platform hosting financial, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing, and public policy databases accessible through a single interface.
Great source for downloading historical time series.
News and Journals
Barron's
Barron's is an American weekly newspaper published by Dow Jones & Company providing analysis and commentary on the previous week's market activity, and an outlook on the week to come.
Check Harvard Availability
Federal Reserve Bulletin
Provides research articles and legal developments.
Financial Analysts Journal
Scholarly articles for practitioners in the investment community on financial theory, practice, and changes to the finance industry.
Check Harvard Availability
Financial Times
Financial Times is a London-based international business daily covering business, political, and world affairs news.
Investor's Business Daily
An American newspaper covering the stock market, international business, finance, and economics.
Check Harvard Availability
PMR Journals (Portfolio Management Research)
Full-text issues (current and archival) of quarterly publications covering research on global investment and finance.
Several publications targeted at professional money managers covering fund management techniques, models, and case studies in titles such as, 'The Journal of Trading, and, The Journal of Portfolio Management'.
Wall Street Journal
Harvard University students, faculty, and staff can activate a free digital subscription to WSJ.com.