Sign in to Baker Library
Overviews and Analysis
IBISWorld
Industry research reports for select US states, UK, Australia, Canada, and China.
Mintel Reports
U.S. consumer market studies and primary and secondary data analysis for topics including food, beverage, apparel, beauty, retail, and travel.
Passport
Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide from Euromonitor International.
Excellent global coverage of consumer industries, including retail.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds.
Provides thorough U.S. industry overviews on Multi-line Retail; Specialty Retail; Textiles, Apparel & Luxury Goods; and Food & Staples Retailing.
Companies
To created a targeted list of retail/luxury goods companies, see: How do I create a list of companies by industry, location, and/or size?
Capital IQ
Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. Includes S&P RatingsDirect.
LSEG Workspace
Features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and sell-side equity research.
Need a Refinitiv Workspace overview? Check out our multimedia learning module, Learn with Baker Library - Refinitiv Introduction.
International Directory of Company Histories
Comprehensive histories of 8,500 of the world's largest and most influential companies.
Tegus
A searchable database of thousands of instantly-available, investor-led interviews with industry experts.
Great source for insider accounts of company strategy & activities.
Statistics
eMarketer/Insider Intelligence
Market data, statistics, and analysis on the Internet, e-business, and emerging technologies.
Passport
Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide from Euromonitor International.
Reports contain comprehensive statistics covering market share, channel distribution & category sales distribution, etc. across a wide variety of geographic markets.
Statista
A searchable database of statistics, studies, dossiers, infographics and more.
United States Census Bureau: Retail Trade
Provides the industry monthly sales and inventory data, annual survey data from the past ten-plus years, and detailed county-by-county data for every state in the U.S.
News and Journals
Business of Fashion (BoF)
London-based platform that provides multimedia news, analysis, career postings, and advice on the global fashion and beauty industries.
Retail Dive
News site covering topics such as brick-and-mortar, retail technology, e-commerce, marketing, payment technology, store operations, omnichannel, and more.
Women's Wear Daily
Leading retail industry trade publication. Coverage spans runway, retail, beauty, digital, consumer trends, manufacturing, and textiles.
Check Harvard Availability
Chain Store Age
A leading trade journal of the retail industry. Produces annual State of the Industry Report and Chain Store Age Top 100. Current content and past two years is available freely online; for back issues, check Harvard availability.
Check Harvard Availability
Journal of Retailing
Theoretical and empirical research on retailing. Focus is on operations management and technology. Coverage from 1964-present is available online. For issues prior to 1964, use the print holdings.
Check Harvard Availability
MMR: The Newspaper for Drug, Discount, and Supermarket Chains
News, opinion, features, financial highlights, profiles, and statistics on the industry. Available online from 2009-present. For back issues, use the print holdings.
Check Harvard Availability
Careers, Associations and Events
Jobs section is searchable by function, level, and location.
Vault
In-depth industry guides including internship information, career advice and user-generated content on companies and career issues.
American Apparel and Footwear Association
Publications and statistics on the industry, manufacturing, trends, regulations, and ShoeStats reports.
Convenience Distribution Association (CDA)
Lists the organization contacts, activities, and publications such as state of the industry reports (free for members).
National Retail Federation
Represents state and national associations as well as large and small corporate members. Its site offers industry news, trends and statistics, directories, event listings, information on hot topics and government affairs.
Retail Industry Leaders Association (RILA)
Gives position papers and research in the areas of asset protection, finance, human resources, supply chain, sustainability and government affairs.