Sign in to Baker Library
Overviews
Economist Intelligence Unit
In-depth country and selected industry analysis and data.
Includes quarterly analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, and business environment in more than 180 countries, including analysis of trade policies and investment climate.
Includes information on major U.S. cities; employers; job and internship listings, and information on companies that have applied for H1B visas.
World Factbook
Produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, provides brief surveys of the economic, geographic, and political conditions of most countries, dependent areas, and other entities.
In ABI/ProQuest browse to "Industry and Market Research" to access country reports by Business Monitor International (BMI).
EMIS (Emerging Markets Information System)
Country and company information on Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East.
EMIS search results can be filtered by specific country and region. Native language material includes English translation.
Rankings
IMD World Competitiveness Online
Country profiles and competitiveness rankings on criteria related to domestic economy, international trade, international investment, government efficiency, business efficiency, and infrastructure.
Analyzes and ranks the ability of nations to create and maintain a competitive environment. Contains cross-country and regional comparisons.
Social Progress Index
Provides multiple measures of countries' social progress and well being, including basic needs such as nutrition, water and sanitation, and shelter; foundations of well being such as access to information and communications; and opportunity, such as access to advanced education.
Transparency International
Rates and ranks countries by corruption and openness.
Global Cities Index
A.T. Kearney ranks 60 cities in 40 countries on city-level responses to globalization.
Business and Economic Environment
Business Enabling Environment (BEE) project
The World Bank Group is developing a new project to measure the business enabling environment in economies worldwide.
Economist Intelligence Unit
In-depth country and selected industry analysis and data.
Provides EIU City Data, EIU Country Commerce, and EIU Country Finance.
OECD iLibrary
Country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
Select statistics can be downloaded. Includes information and data on non-OECD countries.
Includes analysis of debt issues, including sovereign debt.
U.S. Commercial Service: Country Commercial Guides
In-depth reports on the business environment in various countries. Some industry reports are also available.
CountryData.com
Political risk data with over 75 country risk-related variables including political, social, economic, financial, and government stability.
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics
Annual international trade data by commodity and trading partner.
The Observatory of Economic Complexity (OEC)
A visualization tool that allows users to create a visual narrative of countries, and the products they trade.
Social and Cultural Environment
Human Development Reports
Thematic reports published annually by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). Recent themes have included; The Real Wealth of Nations, human mobility and development, climate change, and the global water crisis. The site also provides access to thematic regional reports.
Global Corruption Report
Provides regional assessments of corruption. Goal is to raise awareness of the impact of corruption and advocate policy reforms.
Hofstede Insight
Evaluates a country's culture based on metrics such individualism, masculinity, power distance and indulgence .
The World Happiness Report
A survey of the state of global happiness that ranks 156 countries by how happy their citizens perceive themselves to be.
Statistics
Economist Intelligence Unit
In-depth country and selected industry analysis and data.
Click on data in the top menu in order to extract economic and finance data by country, item and year. Includes forecasts.
Includes International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payment Statistics, and Direction of Trade Statistics.
Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web
A list of links to national statistical agencies. This website is good source for country-specific social and economic indicators, including national census data.
International Statistics Database
Produced by the St. Louis Federal Reserve, provides a way to look for worldwide economic indicators. Links to individual indicators (such as GDP and Inflation) available for countries. Descriptions are searchable by title, country, subject, source and keyword.
Passport
Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide from Euromonitor International.
World Development Indicators
Statistics from the World Bank for almost 600 development indicators dating as far back as 1960.
Includes development indicators for public health, environment, education, and labor force.
CEIC Data
Macroeconomic, industrial, and financial time series for China and other countries.
Provides external debt and financial flow data for the 136 countries that report public and publicly guaranteed debt to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System.
Global Consumption Database
Data on household consumption patterns in developing countries. Select data by country and sector.
Global Financial Data
Economic and financial time-series database including 150 countries and 6,500 different data series.
Statista
A searchable database of statistics, studies, dossiers, infographics and more.