About this Database

Platform hosting financial, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing, and public policy databases accessible through a single interface. WRDS is a web-based business data research service from The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania. Strengths include deep archives of historical data, a common web interface for access to all WRDS databases, and a variety of output file formats.

 

Go To Database

Access

Access method

Individual Account

Access notes

 

 

 

Harvard University faculty, students (including MBA students) and researchers can request a WRDS account.


WRDS accounts are not provided or available for access during the summer or extended semester breaks.

 

See WRDS Cloud documentation for details on connecting via SSH to run programs in SAS, Python, R, or Stata.

 

WRDS has upgraded account security by utilizing Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) by Duo Security.  How to Log In to WRDS Using WRDS 2FA by Duo 

 

Use of WRDS is limited to academic and non-commercial research purposes. The right to access licensed databases and copyrighted material on the WRDS system is only for internal or academic research. You may not use data downloaded from WRDS for any commercial endeavor. In addition, you may not reveal, disclose, transfer, or share username and password information with anyone. Additional restrictions apply. See WRDS Terms of Use.


Related Resources

What can I do in WRDS?

American Hospital Association Survey Databases
Bank Regulatory Database
BoardEx
Capital IQ - Identifiers
Capital IQ
Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP)
Chicago Board Options Exchange Volatility Index
ComScore
Compustat
DealScan
Dow Jones Averages & Total Return Indexes
Eventus
Execucomp
Fama-French Portfolios and Factors
Federal Reserve Bank Reports
GovPX
Institute for the Study of Security Markets (ISSM)
Institutional Shareholder Services (formerly RiskMetrics)
MFLINKS
MSCI GMI Ratings
Mergent Fixed Income Securities Database
OptionMetrics Ivy DB
Orbis
Refinitiv ESG
Russell US Equity Indexes
SDC Platinum - Securities Data Company
Sustainalytics
TRACE - OTC Corporate Bond Transaction Data
Thomson Reuters Ownership Databases
Trades and Quotes - TAQ
Voting Analytics Data
Worldscope

Databases

Business & the Environment
Financial Markets