Sign in to Baker Library
Overviews and Analysis
BI <GO> for global medical devices industry data, news, and analysis.
Frost & Sullivan
Reports and market trends encompassing various technology, energy, and manufacturing-related fields.
Provides analyst reports on trends, issues, and market-related topics in areas of biotechnology, health care devices, medical devices, and more.
IBISWorld
Industry research reports for select US states, UK, Australia, Canada, and China.
Overview reports on medical device manufacturing and medical supply wholesaling.
Market reports cover medical devices, biotechnology, and more.
ProQuest TDM Studio
Mine large volumes of published content from newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, dissertations, and other Harvard- licensed ProQuest contemporary and historical content.
Useful for analyzing companies' tech portfolios, emerging trends in tech fields, potential M&A deals, etc.
Technavio
Reports on a variety of global industries including technology, healthcare, retail, energy, aerospace, and automotive.
Companies
Capital IQ
Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. Includes S&P RatingsDirect.
Need a Capital IQ overview? Check out our multimedia learning module, Learn with Baker Library - Capital IQ Introduction.
CB Insights
Tracks global venture capital, angel investment, private equity, M&A, and IPO activity related to private companies.
Pitchbook
Information on companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the private investment lifecycle.
LSEG Workspace
Features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and sell-side equity research.
Useful for finding industry and company analyst reports in areas of medical devices, biotechnology, and pharmaceutical pipelines.
Need an LSEG Workspace overview? Check out our multimedia learning module, Learn with Baker Library - LSEG Introduction.
Pipeline
ClinicalTrials.gov
A service of the U.S. National Institutes of Health. Contains trials sponsored by the NIH, other federal agencies, and private industry. Studies listed in the database are conducted in 50 states and 157 countries.
It includes information on both drug trials and medical devices trials.
EU Clinical Trials Register
Allows to search for information on clinical trials in EU member states and European Economic Area and clinical trials which are conducted outside the EU/EEA if they form part of a pediatric investigation plan. May use 'Advanced search' function for efficient searching.
FDA: Medical Devices Databases
Databases from FDA covering guidance, pre-market approval, notification 501(k)s, registrations, and listings. Most of the databases are updated weekly or monthly.
WHO: International Clinical Trials Registry Platform
The Platform is to ensure that a complete view of research is accessible to all those involved in health care decision making. The ICTRP Search Portal provides access to a central database containing the trial registration data sets provided by the registries listed on the right. It also provides links to the full original records.
Regulation
European Commission: Medical Devices Regulation
May also navigate the website for more information on the industry and regulatory process in the EU.
Medical devices law and regulation answer book
It is a well-thought-out guide to medical devices law and regulation that would otherwise require time consuming and expensive research. The book goes beyond medical device development and approval, covering everything from clinical studies to post-market surveillance to quality system regulation to sales. It also includes chapters on legal issues, such as product liability litigation, preemption, intellectual property issues.
Check Harvard Availability
U.S. Food & Drug Administration: Medical Devices: Overview of Device Regulation
U.S. FDA is a medical devices regulatory body for the United States. Provides information on the approval process and related laws and regulations.
News and Journals
Informa (In Vivo, MedTech Insight, Scrip)
Articles on medical technologies, biopharmaceuticals, and companies in the medical fields from In Vivo, MedTech Insight, and Scrip.
Medical Device and Diagnostic Industry (MD&DI)
A monthly magazine provides in-depth news. Its feature articles offer authoritative perspectives and provide a valuable reference on the full range of device industry issues.
PubMed
Global database of articles related to medicine, including health care management.
Resource that helps place clinical trials in the context of patients' overall medical care via medical literature.
ScienceDirect
Articles from journals in business, management, life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences topics.
Provides current and historical overview articles, including many related to medical devices such as point-of-care devices, diagnostic devices, and other healthcare related devices.
Careers, Associations and Events
Conference Alerts
Listings of upcoming conferences and events. Searchable by keyword. Free newsletter subscription.
MassMEDIC
Medical device manufacturers and related companies in Massachusetts. The Job Bank provides job listings of the membership companies.