Health Care

Professor Regina Herzlinger documents how the consumer-driven health care movement is being implemented and its impact on insurers, providers, new intermediaries, and governments.

Health data and reports covering the European Union.

The Library includes Sage Handbook of Healthcare: Global Policies, Business Opportunities, Scientific Developments and general background on other health care related e-reference books. (Select the Medicine section.)

Provides articles on health care issues and challenges in specific countries and globally.

A searchable e-journal and provides articles by topic collections and/or thematic issues from countries around the world.

Published annually by the World Health Organization. Reports are international in scope and focus on specific health-related trends and issues.

An open access, peer-reviewed journal.

Measures patient-level health data from local, state, and national data collection organizations (including hospitals, clinics, emergency departments and physician's offices.

Monthly publication that includes industry trends and analysis, interviews with analysts and executives, and information on deals and regulatory issues for the the biopharma, medtech, and diagnostics sectors.

Academic articles on health care finance from an international perspective.

CMS content includes reports, newsletters, data and publications relating to health care coverage in the U.S.

Includes a directory of plans by state.

Profiles of U.S. managed health care organizations arranged by state.

Published by the Kaiser Family Foundation. Provides state-level health financing, health costs and budgets, and health coverage data.

A quarterly compilation of health insurance company ratings and analyses.

National organization of 37,000 individual members and approximately 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, and other providers.  The AHA data portal is particularly useful.

Monitors the distribution and use of medical resources throughout the United States.

Publishes articles on health care education, health care professional practice, and all areas of health care systems and provisions.

Statistics on workplace supply and demand, malpractice payments, and adverse actions. 

Published by the American Hospital Association (AHA), a good comparative source for US hospital data, including a 5-year trends for most indicators. Also includes historical data (1946-2006) for some indicators.

Focuses on important topics in private practice management including business operations, quality care, and risk management.

Formerly known as the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research, this organization provides access to data, for both researchers and consumers, about the U.S. health care system.

Access to reports, articles, and legislation on various health care topics. 

Find information on policies, licensing, royalties, and process.

Reports, working papers and data on international health policy issues. Use "physician" as a search term for quick access to the relevant publications.

Analysis of health care system and issues in Central and South American countries.

An international professional society of more than 30,000 health care executives who lead hospitals, health care systems and other health care organizations.

National association representing nearly 1,300 member companies providing health insurance coverage to more than 200 million Americans.

National organization of 37,000 individual members and approximately 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, and other providers.  The AHA data portal is particularly useful.

Annual conference seminars on many health care-related topics. An employment referral service is also available.

Provides news, events, whitepapers, webinars, and jobs on health care industries.

Brings together from a variety of sources data on many medical conditions.

Statistics on inpatient care, outpatient care, and hospital emergency department care. 

Comprehensive U.S. health statistics. Go to FastStats on the site for statistics on diseases, medical conditions and significant public health topics. 

Provides data and reports from public opinion surveys. Surveys include questions on how patients view their medical care, their health insurance coverage, and their views on the medical community. Strong U.S. focus, but does include a growing collection of international surveys.

A great starting place for locating data on international health care as well as analysis of global trends and issues.