Sign in to Baker Library
Getting Started
Entrepreneur's Guide to Law and Strategy
Walks readers through the various stages of starting a business--from start-up and growth to an initial public offering--while highlighting the legal issues that go along with them.
Check Harvard Availability
HBR's 10 must reads on entrepreneurship and startups
Collection of articles originally published in the Harvard Business Review focused on helping founders build companies for enduring success. Featured contributors include Clayton Christensen, Marc Andreessen, and Reid Hoffman.
Check Harvard Availability
Mastering the VC Game: a venture capital insider reveals how to get from start-up to IPO on your own terms
Insights, stories, and practical advice gathered from HBS Professor Jeff Bussgang's own experience as well as from interviews with dozens of the most successful players on both sides of the game. Topics include how to get noticed, perfect a pitch, and negotiate a partnership that works for everyone.
Check Harvard Availability
Startup Owner's Manual
Silicon Valley expert Steve Blank's essential handbook for starting a business.
Check Harvard Availability
HOLLIS
Discovery platform for materials and resources available in the Harvard University libraries.
Search the Harvard Library catalog, HOLLIS, for more books on the topic. Tip: try adding handbook or playbook to either startup or entrepreneur when searching.
Understand the Market
Frost & Sullivan
Reports and market trends encompassing various technology, energy, and manufacturing-related fields.
IBISWorld
Industry research reports for select US states, UK, Australia, Canada, and China.
LSEG Workspace
Features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and sell-side equity research.
Use LSEG Workspace to locate industry analyst reports relevant to your venture.
Mintel Reports
U.S. consumer market studies and primary and secondary data analysis for topics including food, beverage, apparel, beauty, retail, and travel.
Passport
Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide from Euromonitor International.
Statista
A searchable database of statistics, studies, dossiers, infographics and more.
Identify Funders and Competitors
Using the databases below, you can screen for venture capital firms based on a variety of criteria. You can also identify competitors by seeing who these firms are funding that are working in a similar space.
Capital IQ
Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. Includes S&P RatingsDirect.
Need a Capital IQ overview? Check out our multimedia learning module, Learn with Baker Library - Capital IQ Introduction.
Pitchbook
Information on companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the private investment lifecycle.
CB Insights
Tracks global venture capital, angel investment, private equity, M&A, and IPO activity related to private companies.
Preqin
Provides access to information on private equity and venture capital companies, funds, and deals.
Pitch Your Idea
Get backed : the handbook for creating your pitch deck, raising money, and launching the venture of your dreams
Startup veterans outline how to create a compelling pitch deck and how to plan and execute a fundraising road show that will win financial support for new businesses.
Check Harvard Availability
Business Insider
Multinational news site covering business and financial topics such as technology, politics, global affairs, healthcare, business, energy and sustainability.
Our Insider premium subscription includes access to their library of over 750+ startup pitch decks. To access the pitch deck library, after you have created your account, click on your name in the upper right hand corner (which contains shortcuts to all premium content).
Startup Secrets: Getting Behind the Perfect Pitch
Michael Skok presentation at the Harvard iLab. Outlines how to put together the perfect pitch that gets your venture the attention and the funding it deserves.
BaseTemplate Pitch Deck Archive
200+ original startup pitch decks from successful ventures.
Templates and Forms
National Venture Capital Association: Model Documents
Industry-embraced set of model legal documents that can be used as a starting point in venture capital financings.
UpCounsel Legal Documents
Free legal documents and templates drafted by UpCounsel Attorneys, including SAFE and other financing documents.
Business Plans Handbook
Sample business plans, templates, listings, glossary and bibliography.
Blogs and News
a16z
Podcast from Adreessen Horowitz covering topics relating to technology and business & innovation.
Benedict Evans
Newsletter, essays and presentations covering tech by consultant and long-time analyst Benedict Evans.
Factiva
Aggregated news from national and local newspapers, magazines, trade publications, and transcripts.
First Round Review
Tech startup advice from First Round Capital.
Steve Blank
Blog from entrepreneurial expert Steve Blank. His site also contains an excellent selection of practical resources & tools.
You can also sign up for our Startups Highlights newsletter!