Sign in to Baker Library
Overviews and Analysis
S&P Capital IQ Pro
An industry-focused platform covering news, data, transactions, filings and analysis covering financial, real estate, insurance, energy, media, consumer and industrial industries.
Find data and analysis on the following sectors: Multichannel, TV Networks, Broadcast, Internet & OTT, and Film & TV Programming.
Technavio
Reports on a variety of global industries including technology, healthcare, retail, energy, aerospace, and automotive.
Technavio's global reports covering the Entertainment & Media sector include a wide range of markets: video games, music production, TV & radio subscriptions, online movies, sports tourism, etc.
EMIS (Emerging Markets Information System)
Country and company information on Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East.
Look for market research reports in Broadcasting, Digital Media & Publishing, and Media.
Advisory Board for the Arts
Global network-based learning organization in the cultural sector.
Companies
Capital IQ
Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. Includes S&P RatingsDirect.
Need a Capital IQ overview? Check out our multimedia learning module, Learn with Baker Library - Capital IQ Introduction.
FactSet
Financial data analysis platform to analyze data from global equity and fixed income markets.
LSEG Workspace
Features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and sell-side equity research.
Need an LSEG Workspace overview? Check out our multimedia learning module, Learn with Baker Library - LSEG Introduction.
See also:
Company databases: Which to choose?
How can I create a list of companies by industry, location, and/or size?
Statistics
eMarketer/Insider Intelligence
Market data, statistics, and analysis on the Internet, e-business, and emerging technologies.
Includes international market information for media usage, music, television and publishing.
Media specific content covers TV Networks, Broadcasting (radio & TV) and Film and TV Programming.
Statista
A searchable database of statistics, studies, dossiers, infographics and more.
Statista covers a wide range of entertainment/media sectors including Books & Publishing; Music; Radio, TV & Film; and Sports.
See also:
News and Journals
AAM - Media Intelligence Center
Explore audited circulation reports and publishers' statements for media analysis in the United States and Canada.
Billboard
Keeps music and video retailers, radio programmers, and music fans up to date on what the public is buying.
Broadcasting & Cable
Weekly magazine for the broadcast and cable television, radio, satellite, and interactive multimedia industries.
Check Harvard Availability
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century.
Check Harvard Availability
Hollywood Reporter
Includes film, television, cable, music, interactive media, and home video. Delivers breaking news and solid in-depth stories plus box office grosses, TV ratings, video and music charts, and film and TV production charts.
Check Harvard Availability
Variety
Covers film, television and cable, home video, music, new media, theater, and finance. Includes Nielsen's television ratings every Tuesday.
Check Harvard Availability
Industry & Trade Associations
Careers
MBA Career & Professional Development (CPD)
Career resources for HBS MBA students.
Alumni Career & Professional Development (CPD)
Career resources for HBS Alumni.
Vault
In-depth industry guides including internship information, career advice and user-generated content on companies and career issues.
Select "The Library" from the left sidebar. Select "Guides from the center panel. Select "Media and Entertainment" from the drop down men to browse a range of entertainment sector guides including film, music, publishing and television.
Associations
Motion Picture Association of America
The MPAA represents producers and distributors of motion pictures. Includes a chronology of recent legislation affecting the motion picture industry, and summary statistics on movie viewing.
National Association of Broadcasters
Features sections on legal and regulatory affairs, science and technology, market information such as a 10-year history of Nielsen and Arbitron diary response rates, and current industry news. Members include representatives of radio and television stations and networks; associate members include producers of equipment and programs.
National Cable & Telecommunications Association
Provides historical background describing the cable television industry and links to cable programmers, associations, and trade magazine sites. Members include franchised cable operators, programmers, and cable networks.
Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA)
Aims to protect intellectual property rights and the First Amendment rights of artists. Includes information on technology, legislation, censorship, piracy, Web licensing, and international trade. The Research and Data section contains market data available in pdf format including "Annual Manufactures' Unit Shipments," "Cost of a CD," (CD production), as well "Annual Consumer Purchasing Trends."