Business History in the Contemporary Collection

Covering 1966-1996, provides directory information and financial data for public and private companies. For more recent editions of this title, see D & B Million Dollar Directory.

Provides fifty years (1965-present) of data on US government revenues, outlays, deficits, and surpluses.

Over 3000 data series covering production, employment, money, prices and a variety of other macroeconomic indicators. Focus on US economy but there is some data for UK, Germany and France.

Allows for comparative analysis of data across countries in each regional area. Covered in each volume: Population & Vital Statistics, Labour Force, Agriculture, Industry, External Trade, Transport & Communication, Prices, Education, and National Accounts.

Allows for comparative analysis of data across countries in each regional area. Covered in each volume: Population & Vital Statistics, Labour Force, Agriculture, Industry, External Trade, Transport & Communication, Prices, Education, and National Accounts.

Allows for comparative analysis of data across countries in each regional area. Covered in each volume: Population & Vital Statistics, Labour Force, Agriculture, Industry, External Trade, Transport & Communication, Prices, Education, and National Accounts.

Raw data from 1815-present. Covers social, economic, education, election, military, transportation and many other country-level indicators. For a full list of variables and countries covered, see the CNTS website.

Data from Colonial times to present. Data and reports are organized within five sections: Population, Work and Welfare, Economic Structure and Performance, Economic Sectors, Governance and International Relations.

US data, most data from 1880-2011, at the national and state level. Indicators include socio-demographic, industry, income, elections and federal government finances. Data are available in both PDF and MS Excel format.

This Harvard Library guide lists some of the most useful research tools for finding congressional documents and some secondary sources.

The Archive of Americana provides access to an extensive collection of US legislative documents including American State Papers, 1789-1838; House and Senate Journals, Series I, 1789-1817; Senate Executive Journals, 1789 - 1980; U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817 - 1994; and Serial Set Maps.

Covers 1688-present; includes full text of House of Commons and House of Lords bills, acts, debates and sessional papers.

Find Congressional hearings, legislative histories and testimony. Limit your search to CRS (Congressional Research Service) reports to locate in-depth analysis on a wide range of public policy issues.

The Economist Historical Archive covers 1843-2006. The Historical Archive includes keyword search and browse by date capabilities and full color images. The data within the "Economic and Financial Indicators" tables are exportable to spreadsheet format.

Predominately a resource for legal research, Hein Online also has several research collections that will be of interest to business historians including Taxation & Economic Reform in America, 1781-2009 and History of Bankruptcy.

Business History Review seeks to publish articles based on rigorous primary research that addresses major topics of debate, offer comparative perspectives, and broaden consideration of the subject. Topics include, history of entrepreneurs, firms and business systems, innovation, and regulation.

The Journal of Economic History is devoted to the multidisciplinary study of history and economics. Topics covered include money and banking, trade, manufacturing, technology, transportation, industrial organization, labor, agriculture, servitude, demography, education, economic growth, and the role of government and regulation.

Data from 1926-2014; Annual publication containing historical averages for various types of investments such as total returns, and index values for large and small company stocks.

Data from 1926-2013; total returns and index values for stocks, bonds (corporate and government), Treasury bills and inflation.

Comprehensive US newspaper database that covers 1690-1980. Collections include Early American Newspapers, African American Newspapers and Hispanic American Newspapers.

The Economist Historical Archive covers 1843-2006. The Historical Archive includes keyword search and browse by date capabilities and full color images. The data within the "Economic and Financial Indicators" tables are exportable to spreadsheet format.

Indexes all content in Forbes from 1919 to 2000.

FBIS is an ongoing digitization project that will provide access to selected international radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, and government statements, all translated into English. The publications focus on military affairs, politics, the environment, societal issues, economics, and science and technology. Upon completion the database will cover over 200 countries in all regions of the world from 1941-1996.

Access to over 10 US newspapers including Boston Globe (1872-1979), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Time (1881-1986), New York Times (1851-2006), Wall Street Journal (1889-1992), and Washington Post (1877-1993).Search Tip:To access the historical newspapers: Select the link above and choose "Select multiple databases". Click "Clear all databases", scroll to the bottom of the page and select the newspaper(s) you wish to search. Next, click the "Continue" button and enter search terms.

Full-text access to The Times (London) newspaper from 1785-1985, including news, advertisements and illustrations. Does NOT include the Sunday edition.

Covers newspapers from the United States, Africa and Latin America. Each collection is searchable individually or as a world newspaper group.